Late Stage: Learning

The progression to Stage 4 or Stage 5 CKD signifies that your kidneys have continued to lose function. You may experience new symptoms and begin treatment. Your healthcare team will monitor your condition, and design treatments that match your health and lifestyle needs.

  • About Your Kidneys
  • Understanding how your kidneys work will help you understand how different treatments are designed to support or take the place of your kidneys.
  • The Stages of CKD
  • CKD has 5 stages, ranging from nearly normal kidney function to kidney failure.
  • A Deeper Explanation of CKD
  • Chronic kidney disease can result from a number of causes, including diabetes and high blood pressure.
  • Next Steps
  • Monitoring lab results, doctor visits and a health diary are some of the next steps you can take.