The Stages of CKD: Stage 4 and Stage 5

Stages 4 and 5 are categorized as severe CKD. Stage 5 represents kidney failure. It is important for you to maintain kidney health to avoid or delay these later stages of CKD.

Pay close attention to your symptoms and let your doctor know immediately if you have any signs of worsening CKD including:

  • Nausea, vomiting, and loss of appetite
  • Headaches, sleepiness, inability to concentrate
  • Itching, tingling in hands and feet
  • Swelling around eyes, or hands and ankles
  • Muscle cramps
  • Little or no urine output
  • Changes in skin color

For a more complete guide to late stage CKD, click on the links below or return to the home menu for the program tailored to Late Stage CKD.




Slide Selection