The Stages of CKD: How is CKD Staged?

Knowing your chronic kidney disease (CKD) stage will help you make treatment decisions and plan for the future.

CKD has 5 stages, ranging from nearly normal kidney function (Stage 1) to kidney failure requiring dialysis or transplant (Stage 5). Your doctor will determine your CKD stage based on:

  • GFR (glomerular filtration rate): A lab test which shows your kidney function
Slide 1
Slide 2
Example Frame

Slide Selection